Llangattock Park House was built in 1838 for the Duke of Beaufort by T H Wyatt as a summer/hunting residence. The tenth Duke took a particular interest in the early 1900s and from 1906 until about 1920 the house was used as a summer residence.
The house is a two storeyed, neo-Tudor house in local stone with Bath stone dressings and a gabled slate roof. An octagonal entrance tower is sited at the front of the property in which there is a high Gothic door where it is rumoured the Duke rode his horse into the entrance where he would warm up next to the hallway stove and have a stiff drink! The Beaufort Crest adorns the wall above the door.
The house has many historical features including gargoyles a green man and griffins holding shields bearing the Beaufort Crest. We are offering bed and breakfast accommodation in the “Duke of Beaufort’s room”. The room and its bathrooms are accessed through a private doorway on the landing which leads onto another small landing and the accommodation.
The Duke of Beaufort’s room offers luxurious accommodation in a large bedroom which features a King Size half tester bed.
There are stunning views from the bedroom windows over the gardens and towards Crickhowell with the mountains behind. There is a small settee, table and chairs and also a TV. The bedroom has two private bathrooms, The Green Bathroom and the Turret Room.
The bedroom has two private bathrooms, The Green bathroom and the Turret room.
The Green bathroom is a lovely bathroom containing period fixtures and fittings and has a canopy bath with shower over. There are lovely view towards Crickhowell and the mountains. The Turret bathroom is contained within the turret area of the house. There are many period fixtures and fittings including an original roll top bath.
We offer a full English breakfast served in the dining room.